I am beautiful

walk20away

I choose to walk away from it all

the hurts and betrayals

I choose to find a reason to live

once again, to laugh and feel the

sunshine on my face, the splash

of the ocean waves on my skin

 

I choose to love myself and the

face in the mirror

I no longer seek approval from

others, I am beautiful!

I love this new me, this strange

feeling; it’s awesome

 

The fight has died in me, call it

cowardice; I don’t care anymore

they can have all of him and some

I’m not a coward, I won’t share

I simply refuse to wait for love to

happen; for someone to love me

when he feels like it

 

No, I have chosen to love me all the

time, none stop

 

I walk into a brand new life filled

with love, laughter and sunshine

True love will come when it will.

Surprise, surprise, it will

meet me on my own terms

I embrace the new me.

© Amaka Paul 2016

Image

19 thoughts on “I am beautiful

  1. I absolutely LOVE this! :’) It’s important for everyone to love and accept themselves no matter what others might say ALWAYS be yourself and do the things you love, wear the clothes you want to wear etc. I recently added a poem on my page as well that deals with self confidence check it out when you get the chance. Feel free to interact with me and view some of my previous post as well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! happy we are on the same page on this; self – confidence matters a lot. We must learn to accept ourselves and not wait for validation from others… our happiness follows from that.

      I will definitely check out your poem, I do appreciate your stopping by and your kind feedback… thank you!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

