I don’t mind a tan

summer2

I lift up my eyes to you

I bask in your radiant smile

My skin burns at your touch

Your warm breath on my neck

Feels like summer

 

I accept you won’t be here for long

I resolve to make the most of our

Time together

 

Take me to the islands my love

My feet long for the sands

My heart aches for the sight

To behold the beauty of

The beaches and ride the waves

 

With you, I can be myself

A hat and bikini

Cream and a blanket

A towel and basket

That’ll be all for now

 

You watch as I laze around

You approve as I take a sip

You smile as I take a nap

With you the outdoor is fun

 

You won’t stay for long I know

So I will cherish every moment

Capture every splash and dip

And for you, I don’t mind a tan.

 

Wade with me, splash with me

Let’s make this moment last.

©Amaka Paul 2016

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “I don’t mind a tan

Leave a Reply

